The United Grand Lodge of England


GrandLodge4Aweb.jpgThe United Grand Lodge of England (UGLE) is the governing body of Freemasonry in England, Wales and the Channel Islands. Its headquarters are at Freemasons’ Hall, Great Queen Street, London WC2B 5AZ.

Lodges meeting in London (an area generally within a 10-mile radius of Freemasons’ Hall), are administered by the Metropolitan Grand Lodge of London, which is headed by the Metropolitan Grand Master.

Lodges meeting outside London, and within England, Wales, the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands, are   grouped into 47 Provinces, whose boundaries often correspond to those of the old Counties, with each headed by a Provincial Grand Master.

Lodges that meet outside England, Wales, the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands are grouped into 33 Districts, with each headed by a District Grand Master, five Groups (ie: currently too small to make up a District), with each headed by a Grand Inspector, and 12 Lodges abroad which are directly administered by Freemasons’ Hall.

GrandLodge5.jpgThe present Grand Master is HRH Prince Edward, Duke of Kent KG, GCMG, GCVO, ADC who has held the office since he was elected in 1967. Prince Edward is a first cousin to Her Majesty the Queen. His father, Prince George, was the fourth son of King George V and was Grand Master from 1939 until 1942. His mother, Princess Marina, was the daughter of Prince Nicholas of Greece.

The present Pro Grand Master is Peter Lowndes, who was born in 1948 and is a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (FRICS).

He served as a Deputy Grand Director of Ceremonies from 1984 until 1986, and was subsequently appointed Grand Director of Ceremonies in 1995, serving until 2003.  On 10 March 2004, Peter Lowndes was installed as Deputy Grand Master, continuing until his appointment as Pro Grand Master on 11 March 2009.

English Private Lodges are mainly grouped into Provincial Grand Lodges which administer Freemasonry for the lodges in their areas, based on the old County boundaries that existed approximately 200 years ago. In England the Private Lodges (under their Provincial Grand Lodges) form part of the United Grand Lodge of England.


The Provincial Grand Lodge of Worcestershire

Cyfrinfa Dewi Sant is one of the 121 private lodges which form the Masonic Province of Worcestershire. The physical boundary of the Province of Worcestershire has remained the same for centuries, surviving many Government re-definitions of county boundaries. The Province has 13 different meeting places, and is ruled by:


RW Bro. Robert Christopher Vaughan

Provincial Grand Master

W Bro. S. J. Wyer

Deputy Provincial Grand Master

W. Bro. K. M. Evans

W. Bro. M. D. Cox

W. Bro. P. V. Firminger

Assistant Provincial Grand Masters

The administration of the Province takes place at the Provincial Office at Bromsgrove. Enquiries should be directed to the Provincial Grand Secretary:

J. L. C. Ridgers Esq.

P.G.L. Office

94 Birmingham Road


B61 0DF

01527 879300